top of page

“I am not my body I am somebody!”

My new personal anthem courtesy of Dream Wife, an all-female punk/riot trio from London who tore down The Market Stage at Truck Festival this weekend. Icelandic born lead singer Rakel Mjöll was a feisty siren slipping from melodic whispers to blaring, in-your-face lyrics along to meaty riffs from Alice Go on guitar, and Bella Podpadec on bass. Dream Wife formed from a joke; a piece of artwork entitled Fake Girl Band that propelled them onto the punk platform and into the ears of fed up females like myself; ‘I’ll tell you what I want what I really really want – I wanna fuck you up!’

Ironically during the gig I felt someone’s confidently curious hands touch my waist – dude seriously, are you deaf? A few nudges to the ribs soon made him clear off. Just goes to show how important Dream Wife and those like them are to questioning people’s expectations of us girlies. News flash – we bite back, and now how you like.

The girl’s unapologetically loud and fearless show complete with uncompromising dance moves, braless raving and head banging was a soul quenching change from the mass of male bands in the same genre that played at Truck, pussy power yo.

You always hear people say that if a band sound better live then they are truly quality - Dream Wife was no exception to this rule. The energy they instilled in the crowd was tangible and infectious; without a doubt they were up there alongside more well-known female band The Big Moon who played the Truck Stage the same day. They were a highlight of the festival let alone the Friday and I cannot wait to see what they do next.

Rock on you badd baddddd bitchesssss!

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page